In Full Swing

RACE ELEVATION. Hospital Hill Half Marathon. Main goal: Don't die. Secondary goal: Finish.
RACE ELEVATION. Hospital Hill Half Marathon. Main goal: Don’t die. Secondary goal: Finish.

So, a little over two weeks ago I ran the Hospital Hill Half Marathon and PR’d. Woo! It was one of my favorite races so far and even though I’d previously feared I was ill-prepared, I glided through the first half of the race joyously. Pain for me came around Mile 10 and I had to drop back a bit, but I was able to gather up the hutzpah to charge through that last half mile well under my pace and pull out the PR. This is a tough course for a PR.

Here I am rounding JC Nichols (fountain in the background) and pretttty ready for that water stop just up the way about 200 yards. [I'm the one on the far left jazz handsing it up and looking really happy for someone who has to get up another 1 mile hill.) Also, pictured: Nice girl I kept accidently bumping into because I was looking around and Brian, one of our awesome pacers. As we were running up one of the earlier hills we learned that he'd finished his first ultramarathon -- I later found out it was the Western States. Woahza.
.

Here I am rounding JC Nichols (fountain in the background) and pretttty ready for that water stop just up the way about 200 yards. [I’m the one on the far left jazz handsing it up and looking really happy for someone who has to get up another 1 mile hill.) Also, pictured: Nice girl I kept accidentally bumping into because I was looking around and Brian, one of our awesome pacers. As we were running up one of the earlier hills we learned that he’d finished his first ultra marathon — I later found out it was the Western States. Woahza.

Now, I am in full marathon training mode. MY FIRST MARATHON. Instead of feeling insecure, I’m just really excited. I can’t wait for October 19th!  To make it even better, several people I know are doing the half, including my good friend Gen. Maybe I’m enjoying this training more because I have some confidence built up but I think it has more to do with the fact that I found out how nice it can be to run with someone. An hour goes by much faster, it’s easier to push a longer distance and helps get me out there in my shoes. Once I get into the long, long runs, we’ll check back in on my level of excitement.

I’ve been following the Level 1 training plan that the local running group’s coach built for the KC Marathon. It works well with my training schedule with Cheryl as the days I train with her are actually marked as cross training days. I’ve also reviewed a number of other plans and I will likely adjust mine a tad to accommodate. In particular, I plan to read up on the Run Less Run Faster plan. It appeals to me because I do have trouble with pacing and not running hard.

Because it’s my first marathon, I know the main goal is just to finish and setting a hard time goal might be foolish; however, I am really hoping to finish in under 5 hours and somewhere around the 4:45:00 mark. Faster than that will be the work of the Universe and might just sell me on plant based training forever. (Oh yeah, I’m currently in my vegan challenge — don’t forget it! I am adjusting and I might stick with it past the month of June.) One of my training challenges has been lack of knowing what paces to use. When the workout would say “5k pace” I’d just try to run hard. Thankfully, Runner’s World has a handy little pace calculator that gives you training paces based on your projected distance and time. I will be using this to help me train. I’ve run faster than the paces generated for me, and I’ve been able to maintain all of the listed paces so I should be able to do this.

My training paces based on the Runner's World calculator.
My training paces based on the Runner’s World calculator.

One of the pace hurdles might be the weather. Summer training. In the Midwest. Yesterday, it was sunny, humid and just under 80 degrees. It felt at least 10 degrees hotter. I still got a good pace going by the end of my run and I know if I’m diligent with hydration, cooling (I am not above dousing myself with water to cool down) and giving my body some time to acclimate to the weather, I’ll be just fine.

Fun fact: my old high school chemistry teacher, Mrs Haley, is one of the testimonials on the Kansas City Marathon website!

2 thoughts on “In Full Swing

    1. Actually, you might not be wrong about the malnourished part. B vitamins can be a struggle for people who don’t eat animal products and meat and they have also been linked to mental health. I was supplementing and eating a lot of nutritional yeast (which does have B vitamins) but haven’t been doing that so much lately.

Leave a Reply

