Saturday Morning is the Best: a Salute to Breakfast

Saturday morning is arguably my favorite time of the week. I long for it on Tuesday night. I imagine it on Wednesday morning. I reminisce about it on Thursday afternoon. [FOOD PICTURES BELOW! OMG!]

Saturday breakfast

Saturday morning is also a great breakfast day. Earlier in the week I’d planned to attempt a sweet potato hash brown type item. Maybe tomorrow post-run. I was inspired by two things this morning:

1) a friend who posted about pumpkin flavored things on Facebook yesterday (pie = excellent; coffee/lattes = barf-o-rama). I happen to enjoy pumpkin-flavored beverages, but I also enjoy pumpkin in my oatmeal. The first time I made it was not so great, but since then I’ve learned a few things that make it delightful.

2) a new week of daily challenges started today and the theme of the week is small goals to accomplish bigger goals. A lingering thought was with me about getting vegetables in at breakfast and making sure to eat veggies at 2 meals per day minimum. I haven’t been doing as well with my fresh veggies lately.

Okay, so today’s Saturday Breakfast turned out to be Pumpkin Oatmeal and Super Green Salad with Fried Egg.

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Pumpkin Oatmeal

[Note, I made a full serving but I only ate half this morning because I was also eating the egg with the greens. Now I have enough oatmeal for a snack or to eat as part of my Sunday Breakfast! I realized I didn’t have enough protein going on with my breakfast with just the oatmeal, hence the egg.]

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats (You can use regular old fashioned oats of course)

1/2 cup Libby’s Canned Pumpkin (or other canned pure pumpkin – or fresh pumpkin if you are so included! Tis the season!)

1 TBSP Silk unsweetened almond milk + 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (make sure you have pure vanilla extract and not the kind with corn syrup!)

1 teaspoon pure maple syrup (adjust this as needed for sweetness but I encourage you to start with 1 tsp)

To taste, but start with 1/4 tsp of each: ground cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg (play with these to get the flavor combo you like)

Directions:

  1. Measure and cook the oats in a good size bowl according to directions. (I cook mine in a big soup mug in the microwave. Takes 3 minutes.Water to oats ratio is 2:1 (so, 1 cup water for 1/2 oats))
  2. Add the following to the oats: pumpkin puree, almond milk, maple syrup, spices (so, EVERYTHING else.) Mix well.
  3. Microwave 1 to 2 minutes (depending on desired temperature and thickness of mixture. If your oats were a little thin and watery you might need a wee bit longer cooking time to get the consistency you want.)
  4. Stir, cool (don’t injure yourself!) and ENJOY!

Super Green Salad with Fried Egg

Super Green Salad with Fried Egg

[Greens are so good for you. They are filling and full of vitamins! I am trying to get back on track with eating them at 2 (or more) meals per day instead of just one.]

Ingredients:

2 large handfuls Organic Girls Super Greens (or your preferred mix of greens – plain spinach, mixed greens, whatever as long as it’s not just plain old lettuce. I think that would be icky. I love OGSG because the colors are so vibrant they make me feel healthier just looking at them!)

1 TBSP Shredded parmesean cheese (you can shred your own from a block or buy it pre-shredded. I look for the lightest, least chemical-laden kind possible.)

1 large organic cage free brown egg (or you know, an egg – I choose to eat the organic cage free but that doesn’t mean you have to – but consider it!)

2 pieces sun dried tomato (I prefer the kind the grocery store makes and puts out in the veggie section, but there are good brands – just look at the ingredients and such before you buy – some of them have way too much added sodium and oil.)

Directions

  1. Get that egg started! Heat a small non-stick skillet and once hot, crack open that egg and let it cook.
  2. While the egg is cooking (5 minutes or less), tear up the greens into managable pieces (you can omit if you really like eating big leafs or if you do a good job cutting them up when you cut up the egg. For me, it’s just second nature to tear the greens as I pull them from the container and dump them on the plate.)
  3. Cut up the sun dried tomato pieces (you need a sharp knife for this due to the toughness of the skin) and drop on top of the greens.
  4. Measure and sprinkle the parmesean cheese on the greens and sun dried tomatoes.
  5. Once the egg is finished cooking (I recommend you cook to the point of a runny yoke) lay it on top of the salad.
  6. Cut up the egg (this is where runny yoke is delightful) so you can eat it! ENJOY. (I end up with everything all mixed together. No need for any dressings or goo – plenty of flavor!)
Leave a Reply

