Chocolate Me! A Healthy Chocolate Shake Recipe

Facebook was down earlier so I had nowhere to aimlessly shuffle on the internet. Enter Pinterest. Oh Pinterest. There were so many food posts in my stream tonight. It’s hard to not think about dessert when it’s in your face. Annd I had eaten fewer than 1200 calories for the day and needed a bit more healthy fat and protein to round out my day.

As I was drooling, I stumbled on a healthy chocolate shake recipe that I pinned this week. After reading it, I realized I was missing several ingredients and I was not willing to try to find them at 8:30pm. I also stumbled onto Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe, but didn’t have the ingredients for that either. RATSSSS.

And then, oh yes then, I found my childhood roots. I was quite the concoctor when I was a kid. So, here’s what I threw together tonight (it was DELICIOUS!!!!):

INGREDIENTS

DIRECTIONS

Add all ingredients to blender. I add in this order:
1) Coconut Water
2) Protein Powder
3) Cocoa Powder
4) Flax Seeds
5) Ice*
6) Greek Yogurt

And blend!!!! (until smooth – at least 30 seconds, maybe longer)

Pour into glass and enjoy.

*I used 10 ice cubes and added a tiny bit of plain old water. Also, blend long enough to grind up the flax seeds or use the kind that’s already ground up. I love “travel flax” because it’s ground up, portion controlled, and portable. It will also disappear into whatever you blend or mix it in.

I posted it online in my Livestrong account if anyone is *that* interested: Healthy Girl’s Chocolate Shake


Nutrition Information for Healthy Girl’s Chocolate Shake: Nutrition Information for a Medium Chocolate Shake from McDonald’s Nutrition Information for a Large (32 oz) Chocolate Shake from McDonald’s
Serving Size: 1 shake (this made over 20 oz)
Serving Size: 1
Serving Size: 32 oz.
Amount per Serving
Amount per Serving
Amount per Serving
Calories 363 Calories 580 Calories 1,160
Calories from Fat 76.5 Calories from Fat 189.0 Calories from Fat 243.0
% Daily Value *
% Daily Value *
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 8.5g Total Fat 21g Total Fat 27g
13% 32% 41%
Saturated Fat 1g Saturated Fat 41g Saturated Fat 0g
5% 204% 0%
Cholesterol 45mg Cholesterol 17mg Cholesterol 100mg
15% 5% 33%
Sodium 172.7mg Sodium 11mg Sodium 510mg
7% 0% 21%
Total Carbohydrate 44.18g Total Carbohydrate 6g Total Carbohydrate 193g
14% 2% 64%
Dietary Fiber 9g Dietary Fiber 0g Dietary Fiber 0g
36% 0% 0%
Sugars 31.63g Sugars 0g Sugars 145g
Protein 29.65g Protein 0g Protein 0g
59% 0% 0%
Est. Percent of Calories from:
Est. Percent of Calories from:
Est. Percent of Calories from:
Fat Fat Fat
19% 88.70% 23.90%
Carbs Carbs Carbs
48% 11.30% 76.10%
Protein Protein Protein
32% % %
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calories needs.
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calories needs.
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calories needs.
Leave a Reply

