Are Challenges and Goals the Same Thing?

I was never really in to The Biggest Loser…until Season 11. While I enjoyed some of Season 10, I really felt genuinely connected to the Season 11 cast, particularly the sisters Hannah and Olivia. They were just so earnest and enthusiastic. In fact, I liked them enough to follow them on Twitter and Facebook. They are a daily positive reminder of what a lifestyle change can bring.

Enter Hannah and Olivia’s December challenge. Their December challenge is to commit to one goal, large or small, in the month of December instead of waiting until January and the start of the new year. Resolve to do something now! Don’t wait!

(And this challenge includes prizes for 3 participants. Not my main concern. I just like challenges and goals (are they the same thing?))

Anyhow, as I read through the goals people posted, I started thinking about my own goals. Which goal would be right for the challenge? How could I choose just one? I’d made a decision earlier in the day that I was going to fit into my new jeans by Christmas. Only, they aren’t “new.” I was doing really well with my workouts and eating until about mid/late September when a bunch of things just piled on and I lost control of my eating and workouts. I was so emotional that I was in survival mode. Instead of working out and finding more productive ways to deal, I reverted back to old habits of sweets and isolation. The jeans I’d been wearing, purchased over the summer after I slimmed down to a new size, stopped fitting.

I got out of my rut in November (yep, it took that long) and while not every day was a perfect food/nutrition day and I certainly skipped the gym more often than not, I started to notice changes again.

Goals for now through January 1st:

  • Fit into the jeans I grew out of recently by Christmas
  • Hit my Dec #GoTheDist goals (log 50 miles and 6 strength sessions)
  • Stick to my high protein, high veggie, lower carb diet until Christmas (gets me back on track with meal planning and getting my veggies in!)
  • Workout 5 days per week (Funny thing about being active; you have to BE ACTIVE!)
  • Remind myself it’s okay not to do high intensity, high stamina workouts EVERY TIME I workout (perfectionists mount up!)
  • Make sure each workout is at least 20 minutes
  • Track my water consumption better (this one is really hard now that I’m not working)
  • F*&% THE SCALE!  (This time, I have pictures and I’m going to measure so I have a better idea of what’s actually happening. I want to lose fat, gain muscle and slim down. F*&% the numbers on the scale as long as the other 3 things are happening.)

So, those are my goals. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

