South Beach in My Belly

One of the things the dietitian told me was to use the South Beach Diet way of eating. Focus on proteins first, veggies, and good carbs. That’s pretty much how I eat 75% of the time now. Anyhow, I bought the book and read through it and decided I’d start at the beginning. There are 3 phases: Phase 1 is built to reduce cravings for sugar and subsequently, does not allow you to eat breads, pastas, grains, starches, fruits, or sugars. Phase 2 reintroduces fruits and grains and even allows for wine and dark chocolate. Phase 3 is about maintenance.

I haven’t felt ridiculously hungry today, but I realized through my food logging on LiveStrong that I ate only 712 calories. Oops. I also burned somewhere between 300 and 500 through walking, running, and yard work. Double oops.

So, Day 1 is done – only 13 more on the restrictive Phase 1. My one big hope out of this crappy phase? That the claims are true and I lose some of my belly fat.

Leave a Reply

