Every Nerd Needs Data

I try to balance my logical and analytical side with my emotional side every day. I notice a less than harmonious existence in my physical life most of the time. Excuse me, by physical life I mean, what I eat, drink, how much and when I sleep, etc. Trying to balance “listening to your body” and calculating what you should or can do can be overwhelming. It’s frequently why I throw my arms up and listen to the old habits.

I bought the BodyMedia FIT Armband after reading about how it helped our favorite Fat Girl vs. World.  Constantly finding other people who dealt with the same issues is helpful. They did it. They can. Sometimes that is enough to get me off the couch.

So what does that thing do? It’s  a monitor that will help track how I’m sleeping, how many calories I’m burning, and how many calories I’m eating. I currently track food in 2 places:  Weight Watcher Online and LiveStrong. I was using SparkPeople, but found that LiveStrong offers a better variety of pre-programmed items – which means less adding them myself.

I’m also getting obsessed with the show “I Used to be Fat” on MTV. Instead of working with a trainer, I’m trying to be my own, but I wonder if that’s a mistake. Trainers give you push, props, and progress. In order to be successful, I have to find those things elsewhere.

2 thoughts on “Every Nerd Needs Data

  1. How are you liking the BM Armband so far? I’m interested to know what you think about it, as the reviews on Amazon appear to be mixed.

Leave a Reply

